Wednesday, October 20, 2021
No menu items!

Mamata Banerjee Secures Chief Minister’s Post With Easy Win In By-Poll

Must Read

Mamata Banerjee won a resounding victory in the bypoll from Kolkata today, which was crucial for her to continue as the Chief Minister following the defeat at Nandigram. She won with a record margin of 58,832 votes over her BJP rival.

Here’s your 10-point cheatsheet to this big story:

  1. The Chief Minister won the seat in 2011 and 2016 as well. The seat was vacated for her by state minister Sovandeb Chattopadhyay,

  2. Mamata Banerjee, who lost the battle for Nandigram against her close aide-turned-foe Suvendu Adhikari in the April-May assembly elections, had to win an assembly seat before the end of six months to continue as the Chief Minister.

  3. Priyanka Tibrewal – a lawyer and a long-time resident of the constituency – was fielded against Ms Banerjee by BJP

  4. Although the 41-year-old lost the recent assembly polls and the 2015 municipal polls, she has become well-known as one of the petitioners in the post-poll violence case against the state government.

  5. Mamata Banerjee had contested from Nandigram — where her agitation had catapulted her to power a decade ago — as a challenge to Mr Adhikari, who had joined the BJP in the run-up to the election.

  6. The challenge was seen to have acted as a tonic for her party. Her defeat in Nandigram was the one big blot on Trinamool Congress’s stupendous victory for a third term in face of the BJP’s powerful election machine.

  7. The Trinamool is also in the lead at Murshidabad’s Samserganj and Jangipur seats, where by-elections were held after the deaths of two candidates.

  8. In Samserganj, Trinamool candidate Amirul Islam is leading by 3,768 votes after the fifth round of counting. He secured 19,751 votes, while his nearest rival, Zaidur Rahaman of the Congress, got 15,983.

  9. Jangipur”s Trinamool candidate Jakir Hossain is leading by 15,643 votes after the second round of counting. Mr Hossain secured 25,572 votes, and his nearest rival, the BJP’s Sujit Das, got 9,929.

  10. After multiple instances of violence during and after the assembly polls, the Election Commission arranged for a three-tier security system, deploying 24 companies of Central forces at the counting centre.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
Latest News

India Nears One Billion Vaccine Doses, Landmark Expected Tomorrow Morning

<!-- -->India's COVID-19 vaccination drive began on January 16 this year (File)New Delhi: Nine months after the vaccination...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -
%d bloggers like this: